HISTORY

CREATION: A welcome message from the founder

I was born in 1964 as the third son of Emiel Vanassche, a veterinary and honorary municipal councilor, and Wivinne Decaestecker, a pharmacist. On the day of my birth, my parents could not have guessed that I would be hospitalized barely two weeks later and that this hospitalisation would determine the rest of my life. Not only would I have to learn how to live with physical disabilities, my school studies did not go the way my parents had hoped for either, as I had to switch to the special needs education for a while.
With my first-hand experience, I have always tried, acting both on my own initiative and in collaboration with other persons, to draw the attention of the broader society to the different aspects in the life of disabled people. I chose for instance to complete my studies in the ‘Social School’ with a thesis titled ‘Proof of profiling of the least remunerative people in the sheltered workshop’.
This was only a start.
After completing my education, I became a member of the Program Committee of the King Baudouin Foundation where I helped prepare the European forum for integration of disabled persons. In 2011, I graduated from the KUL (Catholic University Leuven), with a thesis entitled ‘How can local investment in accessibility be an investment in the future? I wrote my postgraduate studies in 'diversity management'.
For these reasons, I would venture to say that the idea of the TolBo project did not result from daydreaming. It evolved from the practice of people (both disabled and non-disabled) who wanted to contribute in concrete terms to integration; people who just wanted to be part of society and share their undertakings with each other.
To us, to integrate is a real verb, a word that implies work and a duty everyone should take up on a daily basis. Indeed, as with any other citizen, the quality of life of the disabled strongly depends on the measure of their participation in society. For example, comfortable housing, the possibility to work, meaningful leisure options, easy transportation, sufficient income, and so on. Taking into consideration that every one of us has talents and limitations, we must strive towards a situation wherein we maximize the use of talents of disabled persons and minimize their limitations. We could, for instance, instate handicap compensation measures or make sure the statute of the disabled person is automatically registered at the start of any building project or any event organisation.

We believe that local and broader authorities both have an important role in these changes. Sometimes, it is a matter of addressing the current high barriers (in the literal sense of the word) and besides, for people with disabilities, it is not easy to find an adequate answer to the many existing questions.

It may seem obvious that local administrations that pride themselves on the improvement of accessibility pay attention to and/or make good use of the wide variety of help they can obtain from the higher authorities. However, reality is often different. Numerous are the local administrations that start using these supports if civil society sufficiently increases pressure, if policy makers themselves are concerned about and/or closely confronted with the situation and if the financial incentives outweigh the effort that was asked for.
Indeed, for the majority of Western society, local policy makers included, the concept of ‘accessibility’ often only evokes physical accessibility for people in wheelchairs or with visual impairments. However, taking into consideration the way UN treaties define the concept of accessibility, every one of us is (potentially) concerned.
Despite the wide variety of diversity plans, the participation in society of impaired people seems to be rather limited as they still lack accessibility in a lot of domains. In order to help improve this situation, the TolBo association was recently created.
By creating a frame of reference and giving good examples of inclusive and accessible governance, we hope we will all start to understand that taking care of an accessible society is a duty everyone should take up.
Text: Mark Van Assche

CREATION

CREATION: Mot du fondateur

Au moment de ma naissance en 1964, mon père, Emiel Vanassche, vétérinaire et conseiller municipal honoraire, et ma mère, Wivinne Decaestecker, pharmacienne, ne s’imaginaient pas que moi, leur troisième fils, serais hospitalisé à peine quinze jours plus tard et que cette hospitalisation influencerait le reste de ma vie.

Non seulement j’allais devoir m’habituer à vivre avec un handicap et des contraintes physiques mais en plus, ma scolarité ne se déroulerait pas comme mes parents l'avaient espéré. J’ai en effet dû passer une partie de mon instruction dans un établissement de l’enseignement spécial.

En tant qu’expert du vécu, j’ai toujours tenté, de ma propre initiative ou en collaborant avec des tiers, d’attirer l’attention de l’ensemble de la société sur les différents aspects de la vie des personnes handicapées. Voilà pourquoi à la fin de mes études d’assistant social, j’ai décidé de rédiger mon travail sur les professions les moins rémunérées en atelier protégé.

Et ce n’était qu’un début…

Après ma formation, je suis devenu membre de la Commission des Programmes de la Fondation Roi Baudouin, chargée de la préparation du forum (européen) sur le thème de l’intégration des personnes handicapées. En 2011, j’ai obtenu mon post-graduat en gestion de la diversité à l’université Catholique de Louvain (la KUL). Mon mémoire s’intitulait ‘Comment un investissement local en accessibilité, peut-il s’avérer être un investissement en l’avenir ?

Voilà pourquoi j’ose faire valoir que l’idée du projet TolBo n’est pas simplement née de chimères mais bien de pratiques concrètes de personnes (handicapées ou non) qui voulaient contribuer à l’intégration, ou qui ressentaient tout simplement ce besoin d’appartenance ainsi que celui de partager leur vécu et leur vie avec d’autres personnes.

Pour nous, le verbe ‘intégrer’ est un mot qui parle d’activité et d’une tâche à laquelle chacun de nous doit s’appliquer quotidiennement. Le niveau de qualité de vie des personnes handicapées dépend fortement, comme celui de tout autre citoyen, de la mesure de participation à la vie sociale. Il s’agit entre autres d’être logé confortablement, de pouvoir aller travailler, d’avoir des occupations, de pouvoir se déplacer facilement, de disposer suffisamment de revenus. Sachant que chacun de nous dispose de talents et de limites, nous devons plus que jamais essayer d’utiliser les talents des gens handicapés et diminuer un maximum leur handicaps. On pourrait par exemple mettre en place des mesures qui compenseraient les handicaps mais aussi faire en sorte que le fait d’avoir un handicap soit indiqué automatiquement lors de la mise en place d’un projet de construction ou d’organisation d’une manifestation.

Nous estimons que les autorités locales et supralocales jouent un rôle important en la matière. Il faut en effet que les barrières disparaissent, parfois même au sens littéral et force est de constater qu’il n’est pas évident pour les personnes handicapées et leur réseau de contacts de fournir des réponses prêtes à l’emploi aux nombreuses questions existantes.

Il pourrait sembler évident que les autorités locales qui veillent à l’accessibilité, prennent en considération et/ou utilisent l’offre très diversifiée des autorités supérieures. Pourtant, la réalité est souvent tout autre. Nombreuses sont les administrations locales qui n’utilisent ces aides que si la société civile accroît suffisamment de pression, ou bien lorsque les décideurs politiques se sentent concernés de près ou de loin, ou encore si les stimulants financiers l’emportent sur les efforts à fournir.

La majorité de la société occidentale, y compris des décideurs politiques locaux, interprètent très souvent la notion d’accessibilité” comme ‘ l’accessibilité physique de personnes qui doivent se déplacer en fauteuil roulant ou qui sont atteintes d’un handicap visuel’… Or, si l’on se base sur la définition des traités des Nations Unies, chacun d’entre nous est potentiellement concerné.

En dépit des nombreux projets de diversité, la participation de personnes handicapées à la vie commune reste assez limitée. Dans beaucoup de domaines, l’accessibilité n’a pas encore été réalisée pour ce groupe bien précis. Et c’est entre-autre pour cette raison que l’association Tolbo a récemment été fondée.

En offrant un cadre de référence et en donnant de bons exemples d’une politique inclusive et accessible, nous espérons que tout le monde se rende compte que la création d’une société accessible incombe à tous.

Texte: Mark Van Assche